

FREEDOM STRUGGLE 1 (1885 - 1916)

PREDECESSORS OF THE INDIAN NATIONAL CONGRESS

BANGABHASA PATRIKA PRAKASIKA SABHA (1836)

First organization to be established in Bengal.

LAND HOLDER'S SOCIETY (1837)

- Earliest Public Association in Modern India.
- **Purpose:** to promote the class interests of the Land lords.
- Decided to co-operate with British India Society in London.
- Appointed a committee to supply regular information to the latter about Indian grievances and demands.
- Dwarka Nath Tagore one of its very active members.

BENGAL BRITISH INDIAN **SOCIETY (1843)**

- Purpose: to promote and protect general public interests.
- Dwarka Nath Tagore mainly instrumental in founding this organization.
- Founded on the advice of George Thomas, secretary of British Indian Society.

BRITISH INDIA ASSOCIATION (1851)

- Resulted from the merger of Land holder's Society and Bengal British Indian Society.
- Had an all India outlook.
- Branches in other provinces.
- Aristocratic in composition.
- Demands:
 - Separation of Legislature from the Executive.
 - inclusion of Indian in Legislative Council.
 - Increase in govt. grant from education and holding of Civil Services Exams in India.
- In 1869 S. N. Banerjee sought the intervention of the association over his disqualification from joining the Indian Civil Service.
- Its Madras branch seceded from it on the ground that it looked after the interests only of upper classes.

MADRAS NATIVE ASSOCIATION (1852)

- Founder: Gazulu Lakshminarasu Chetty.
- First Indian Political Organization in Madras Presidency.

BOMBAY ASSOCIATION (1852)

- First President: Naoroji Furdunji.
- First Political Organization in Bombay Presidency.
- Scientific Society by Sir Syed Ahmad Khan.

Common Features of all these Associations

- Dominated by wealthy and aristocratic elements, called "Prominent Persons" in those days.
- Were provincial or local in character.
- Worked for:
 - Reform of administration.
 - Association of Indians with administration.
 - □ Spread of education.
 - Putting forward Indian demands to the British Parliament.

AFTER 1858 (POST-1857 REVOLT)

- Witnessed more discontent amongst educated Indians against British Indian administration.
- Discontent gradually found expression in political activity.

EAST INDIA ASSOCIATION (1866)

- Established in LONDON by Dadabhai Naoroji.
- Other leaders: Pheroz Shah Mehta, Badruddin Tyabji, Man Mohan Ghosh.
- Aim:
 - To discuss the Indian question.
 - To influence British Public to promote Indian Welfare.
- Later, branches in prominent Indian cities.

Dadabhai Naoroji:

- Born in 1825.
- Known as the Grand Old Man of India.
- India's First Economic Thinker.
- Put forward the idea that the 'basic cause of India's poverty lay in the British exploitation of India and the drain of its wealth'.
- Thrice elected President of Indian National Congress.

NATIONAL INDIAN **ASSOCIATION**

- London
- Founder: Mary Carpenter, biographer of Ram Mohan Roy.

POONA SARVAJANIK SABHA (1870)

- By Justice Ranade, G V Joshi and S H Chipulankar.
- Brought out a journal from 1878.

INDIAN LEAGUE (1875)

Under Sisir Kr. Ghosh.

MADRAS MAHAJAN SABHA (1884)

Founders: M. Viraraghava Chari, G. Subramania Iyer, P Anand Charlu.

BOMBAY PRESIDENCY **ASSOCIATION (1885)**

By Pheroze Shah Mehta, Badruddin Tyabji, and Kashi Nath Telang.